New Year’s Resolution

29 Dec

This time of year puts me in a contemplative frame of mind. I’m certainly not adverse to a good party, but December 31 is one night I’d rather stay home and think about what I’d like to accomplish in the next year. Of course a glass of champagne and a roaring fire are required – it is a festive evening after all.

Speaking of goals, I was interviewed recently by Jayson Jackson of Diversity in Aquatics (here’s the link if you’d like to watch): http://www.diversityinaquatics.com/video/using-jabari-to-make-an-impact

Jayson asked about my goals for the next year, so here goes. My #1 goal is to raise awareness of drowning as a serious threat to children across the globe. Roughly 600,000 child drown each year, and by some estimates, 1,400,000 almost drown, yet very few parents know that drowning is such a risk to their children. My goal for 2011 is to change that.

We can not fix a problem until we acknowledge it’s existence. Help me make 2011 be the year childhood drowning hits everyone’s radar screen.

moved

2 Responses to “New Year’s Resolution”

  1. Tomas Leclerc, Water Safety Magazine January 4, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Rebecca:

    Great goals and admirable. You are an inspiration to us so rest assure that I will support you and help you raise awareness to prevent drownings.

    Tomas Leclerc
    Founder, Water Safety Magazine

    • Rebecca Wear Robinson January 4, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      Thanks Tomas – and I think your new magazine will be a perfect venue for reaching a broad range of people with great information!

Comments are closed.