Has a loved one drowned?

21 Oct

My mom always told me that her greatest fear was to have one of her children die before her.  I kind of understood before I had kids – now that I have my two and my borrowed two I really, really, really understand what she was talking about.  There isn’t ever a good time to lose a loved  one, but just hearing of any child dying brings tears to my eyes and a twist to my gut.  No one wants their child to die, there is a reason drowning is the second leading cause of ‘accidental’ death – it’s just that, an accident.  Like the cause of any accident taking precautions and being vigilant can help, but accidents do happen, and if it has happened to you or someone you know, there is an excellent new online support group for survivors.

The National Drowning Prevention Alliance (NDPA) has introduced JADES (Journey After a Drowning Experience Support).  This network is designed for people who have experienced the death or injury to a loved one resulting from a drowning incident. The link to the blog can be found on the top-left corner of the NDPA website, at http://www.NDPA.org or can be accessed directly at http://JADESNetwork.blogspot.com . This private, moderated blog offers a forum for discussion around many different aspects of the journey after a drowning.

moved

